Curriculum Overview

Diptford C of E Primary School Curriculum Statement 

Empowering our pupils sits at the very heart of our curriculum design.  We are passionate that every child who leaves any of our schools does so with a complete sense of self; with an ability to make informed decisions that reflect their own values and beliefs; a knowledge of where they sit in the world and the impact they can have.  Curiosity is nurtured at every turn as we recognise that we are preparing our children for a future that will be vastly different to our current reality – a child who understands themselves will be well equipped to make choices that impact positively on themselves, others and their environment.

Building and reflecting our communities is an integral part of our thought process and we look to ensure our pupils recognise where they sit and the impact they can have on a local, national and global scale.  Tolerance and an ability to recognise the views of others sit centrally to our curriculum ethos.  In teaching children explicitly to articulate their views with respect, we recognise that every small moment and interaction can support them in developing a responsibility for their choices; where this sits with their own values and their impact on the world around them.

Our curriculum seeks to develop ambitious attitude for every pupil to place them in a position whereby their future choices are theirs to make.  In considering a clear progression in skills, knowledge and experience, we equip children to be aspirational and the best possible version of themselves.

The Link Academy Trust values individuality and empowers Executive/ Academy Heads and their school teams to make personalised, school-based (local) decisions about the implementation of their own curriculums within the structure of our Trust curriculum model.  The following diagram was generated by senior leaders (CEO, DCEO, EIT and Academy Heads) and underpins each setting.

Trust alignment will be achieved through effective collaboration and our approach to autonomy:

  •          Each Academy’s overarching curriculum intent begins with the statement above, along with a personalised statement that reflects their distinctive nature and ethos.
  •          A Trust agreed ‘Curriculum Statement Plan’ format ensures consistency of approach whilst allowing fluidity and evolution.
  •          Subject specific statements of intent are driven by curriculum hubs and reported to the EIT for quality assurance and alignment in Trust message.
  •          AH/individual schools develop how they make local decisions about their curriculum and implementation, in collaboration with curriculum hub expertise.

Our Trust commitment to cutting-edge pedagogy and cross-school collaboration leads to consistent excellence in the quality of education across our Trust.  


Curriculum Intent at Diptford Primary School

At Diptford C of E Primary School, our intent is for pupils to achieve the highest possible progress and outcomes within each subject through the provision of a curriculum that is broad, balanced and rich in experiential learning.  We have developed a 2 year rolling curriculum based on the National Curriculum, the EYFS curriculum, Devon and Torbay RE syllabus, PSHE/SRE curriculum and our Five Star Pledge.  We have designed our curriculum to enable pupils to flourish and develop character within our distinctly Christian ethos, underpinned by our school vision and values.  We seek for our pupils to develop a love of learning and curiosity for the wider world, with an understanding of the impact they can have on others and the world beyond.  We seek to help our pupils develop confidence, resilience and a capital of knowledge and skills that they can grow throughout their primary experience; preparing our pupils well for their next steps. Our curriculum seeks to broaden horizons, ignite passions, nurture talents and make connections in learning, as well as positive human connections. 

The National Curriculum

Our school curriculum includes the ‘National Curriculum’ and EYFS curriculum as well as RE, PSHE and sex & relationships curriculums.

The National Curriculum is a statutory curriculum document used by primary and secondary schools.  It covers what subjects are taught and the standards children should reach in each subject.

The National Curriculum is organised into blocks of years called ‘key stages’ (KS). At the end of each key stage, the teacher will assess pupil progress and outcomes. .

Long term plans
Our long term plans pace out the topics or themes for each year group in a rolling programme.  Key areas for learning and learning 'hooks' may be identified.  Beneath this plan sits the National Curriculum and our Key Skills documents. Teacher plan in more depth for each subject, identifying specific vocabulary too. 
Please follow the link below to see our Long Term Plans updated in line with our class structure for 2019-20 and 2020-21
Curriculum plans and statements
The documents below set out our curriculum plans for Science and the foundation subjects. Each includes our statement of intent, implementation and impact.
Key Skills
The documents below identify the key skills that support achieving National Curriculum outcomes in Science and the Foundation subjects. They are progressive across each year group (Year 1-6).